Renter Reviews


 
My husband and I rented the condo at Ma’alaea, Maui for a week in July, 2016. It was the perfect place for the week we were in Hawaii. Everything was supplied in the kitchen and bathrooms with the exception of a shower chair but that can be rented on the island from the information that was supplied on the webpage. I had to back out of the galley kitchen but that was not a problem since we did not cook meals while we were there. The accessible bathroom was very roomy and easy to maneuver in. The drapes on the windows and doors had remotes which made it very easy to open and close curtains. The pool was wonderful and fairly easy to get in and out of. We found the location to be perfect for us as we prefer more quiet vacation spots. It was about a 25 minute drive to Lahaina and about 10 minutes to Kihei. The information provided on the webpage of things to do was very helpful and there was no worry as to what was accessible or not accessible. We followed some of Bruce and Amy’s recommendations of things to do and would highly recommend both the road to Hana and driving to the top of Haleakala Crater. If it had not been for their recommendation, we would never have tried one of the highlights of our trip, the helicopter flight to Molokai and West Maui – very easy to do with the portable lift for the helicopter. Thank you for making our trip to Maui so wonderful!

Terri L
August 14, 2016
 

Superb Accessibility

I had a great vacation when I stayed at this condo. I needed wheelchair accessibility and this condo is about as good as it gets. A clean unit with modern appliances with remote control.Large doorways and an awesome w/c roll in shower. The bathroom has been well designed with sink and cabinets that allow access from a w/c. I like Maalaea area, it has several places to eat or buy supplies. There is w/c accessible transit busses and a trip to Kihea is only 20 minutes away.

—Murray B on 02/16/2015

 

Wonderful vacation in Maui

We really enjoyed our accessible vacation at this condo. The new kitchen is beautiful and stocked with everything I needed to cook. There is a lovely view of the water from the condo along with an entrance to the water. The grounds are kept very nicely. There are banana trees located on the way to the water and the management picks them when ripe and shares with the tenants. We loved the location. It is within walking distance to the harbor. The harbor offers a few restaurants, small grocery store, cruises for snorkeling or sightseeing and shops. The maui ocean center aquarium is also located there. We were kept very busy as there are many things to do and see. If I have to answer the thing I liked the least it would have to be the cold water in the pool. Otherwise it was a great rental property and I would recommend it to anyone and also to someone needing an accessible condo. Thank you Amy and Bruce!

—Eallen48 on 07/06/2014

 

A great location

Everything you could ask for and then some. Great amenities, facilities and location. Easy access to anywhere on the island and walking distance to restaurants shopping and the Maui Ocean center.

—RichardOstrowski on 07/03/2014

 

Best accessible condo possible, with terrific view & access too

For us Bruce’s place was saving the best for last. We had an accessible condo near Poipu on Kauai the week before. It didn’t hold a candle to this place. Bruce’s place is more like staying with friends than renting a condo. The upgrades make it very comfortable. Resident neighbors in the small complex are very friendly and always willing to help with suggestions etc. The previous guests leave the things they didn’t use up, and so you have many of the basics ( & some delicious surprises)you’d have to get staying elsewhere. Our daughter who uses a wheelchair is still talking about the huge bathroom off the bedroom. It was stupendous in every way for her need’s! Bruce called on day three to assure we were happy. It was nice to have a/c, since the other unit we had didn’t Even though the trade winds did keep the bed room cooler than the other place we stayed.The a/c is in the wall unit in the living/dining room,that runs on a timer. The unit is next to the pool, and a straight shot out to the short narrow dirt/sand path that opens on to the beach. This means everyone going to the pool, sunning area, or beach walks past your patio. We did meet another wheelchair person staying in another unit for part of our visit. They like our set-up much better. The complex is the last one on a dead end road that ends at a county park, with a shower, so you can wash the sand off there too. There are hoses with sprayers by the path and pool to wash sand etc off. It was an excellent location! Easy to get to all parts of the island, and yet quiet and secluded. It is the reason people who live there we spoke too chose the complex.

—CandyGuy on 06/20/2014

 

Perfect Hawaiian get away!

We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversary in Maui and spent 2 weeks at Bruce and amy’s Wheelchair accessible Condo. It met our needs perfectly. My husband has a spinal cord injury (T12-L1) and the bathroom set up worked great. There is lots of space for a wheelchair to maneuver and a nice desk set up in front of the patio window (with a view of the ocean).We rented a shower chair from Gammie Healthcare. We also rented a beach wheelchair from them. Their service was great!We loved this spot. It is in the harbor and the ocean is only 100 feet away from the Lani. Every morning we would have our coffee out there enjoying the view, listening to the ocean, you can even see whales breaching from the Lani. There are also miles and miles of beach to walk and explore. The only negative was the steep incline to get onto the beach from the condo was not accessible for a wheelchair or the beach wheelchair, instead we walked down the street and thru the public park next door so my husband could get on the beach. On the plus side the grounds of the condo have cement paths and grass so Mike could get quite close to the beach without getting into the sand.The location of this condo is perfect; you are in the south central part of Maui with easy access to the main highways. You are not in a large town so there are no traffic problems, but you are close to shops and restaurants.

—Kim and Mike on 03/12/2014

 

A fabulous, accessible and well maintained condo.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this condo. Everything was accessible. The information provided by the owner allowed us to enjoy many activities that we otherwise wouldn’t have tried. The managing couple go out of their way to share information and are extremely friendly and helpful. A great experience.

—June V on 12/14/20

 

Fabulous Experience!

Not only was the Bernhardt’s condo completely accessible for my husband, it was beautiful to boot. I will savor the evenings spent on the lanai, sipping a glass of wine, playing scrabble, listening to the waves roll onto the sand. The oceanfront view, tranquil surroundings and friendly people in the complex made our first trip to Maui perfect. We hope to do it all over again next year!

—Libby DeVisscher on 12/10/2013

 

Magical stay in Maalaea Bay

Our family stayed in this condo for 2 wonderful weeks in June. My husband has progressive MS with significant disability using a large power wheelchair. This was a family celebration of our daughters’ college and high school graduations that I spent over a year planning. I had lots of anxiety about travel with my husband in general and I also worried about having an overall good family vacation experience with so much time/money/expectation invested.The trip was definitely everything we hoped it to be and more; the condo and grounds worked extremely well for my husband. Aside from the needed modifications for a wheelchair guest which worked great for my husband, the rest of us loved the condo, the beach and its location. It was great to just walk/wheel directly outside day or night to see the sun, stars, moon, beach. No stairs or elevator. We spent most evenings relaxing on the lounge chairs on the grass enjoying the views and the colors of the sky. My morning coffee was solo on the grass or on the beach before my daily beach walk. The BBQs were great and everything on the grounds were maintained regularly. I loved this area as it was quieter and less touristy than the other places we visited while there and centrally located to everything else we wanted to do. The tradewinds seemed strong at first but we came to love how they cooled us down, and now that we are back I crave the sound of the palm trees swaying. Other reviewers’ positive comments about the accessibility are all right on, and Bruce and Amy were fantastic in their guidance for our individual needs, both before and during the trip. The challenges of travelling with and caring for someone with disability and medical issues were still significant, but it was well worth our efforts. I was particularly happy that we stayed a full two weeks; it allowed us time to fully relax and still do/see everything we wanted without feeling rushed.Thanks to Bruce’s referrals, here are the disability resources we used: Gammie for the equipment we needed (shower chair and lift), and we used Care Resources for daily caregiving assistance. Both were fantastic. And I want to give an extra shout out to Jennifer and Jordan Wong from Wheelers Van Rentals and their Maui employee, Leilani. They were fantastic and went above and beyond when we had an urgent situation on our last day. The condo managers, Linda and John, were also very concerned and attentive to our needs. Linda even offered to drive me for supplies when she misunderstood and thought we didn’t have our rental car yet.Transportation logistics that might be useful to others: We rented the wheelchair van for 7 of our 14 days and we used Costco car rental to get a regular car for the first 3 and last 4 days – I checked Costco travel site regularly and got the total rental for the regular car down to $150 (thanks to TA Maui forum advice). To get my husband to and from the airport we booked Speedi-shuttle’s accessible shuttle in advance and it was reasonable and worked great. My husband was perfectly comfortable staying in the condo or on the grounds for the days we didn’t have the wheelchair van – sometimes he was there alone for several hours and he was perfectly happy with his ipad and the view 🙂 One evening we walked/wheeled into Ma’alaea village for dinner and that worked fine also. Overall a wonderful, magical family time without that feeling of “compromise” we often have when we have to get the accessible room with a view of the parking lot.

—AMeyer226 on 07/08/2013